You are reading the old version of Pulse Sports.

Uganda Rugby Union awards 2022: List of winners [Photos]

The Uganda Rugby Union awards returned after a seven-year-hiatus under the theme; ‘Celebrating Rugby Excellence’ as outstanding personalities on and off the pitch were recognised for their efforts in uplifting the sport.

Men's and Women's MVPs;  Adrian K. and Peace. L

The 2022 has been a memorable year for the Uganda’s rugby calendar with a number of victories especially the success of the Rugby Sevens team that lifted the Africa Cup and qualified for the Commonwealth Games and the World Cup.

The team also participated in the World Challenger Series in Chile and are due to tussle it out at the Dubai Sevens in December.

Other than the Rugby Sevens, the women’s team also scooped sponsorship, the first of its kind and the government further injected more funds in the sports’ sector which increased the financial allocation to the Uganda Rugby Union, the body charged with promotion and development of the sport.

Back on the success off and on the pitch, the union returned the Uganda Rugby Union awards and recognised its outstanding names that have uplifted the sport.

In a glitzy ceremony at the Kampala Serena Hotel, the best performing players, fans, journalists were recognised for their efforts.

Adrian Kasiro took home the Male MVP of the year gong edging out Ivan Magomu, Jacob Ocen and Aaron Ofoyrowth. Peace Lekuru took home the women’s MVP award.

Ramzan Kakooza of Bukedde TV took best TV journalist award and Deus Bugembe took the print journalist award.

Male MVP of the Year

Ivan Magomu (Black Pirates)

Adrian Kasito (Kampala Old Boys)

Jacob Ocen (Jinja Hippos)

Aaron Ofoyrwoth (Heathens)

Female MVP of the Year

Peace Lekuru (Avengers)

Charlotte Mudoola (Black Pearls)

Faith Namugga (Avengers)

Angela Nanyonjo (Avengers)

Upcoming Male Player

Opileni Hossana (Mulago Rams)

Malcom Okello (Heathens)

Yasin Wasswa (Jinja Hippos)

Mark William Lukwago (Mongers)

Upcoming Female Player

Flavia Ayaa (Lira Matrix)

Maimuna Nassozi (Avengers)

Mariam Masibo (Mbale Eagles)

Janet Nandudu (Mbale Eagles)

Referee of the Year

Wutimba Ronald

Rosenburg Kanyunyuzi

Gonzaga Mayanja

Saudah Adiru

Coach of the Year (Domestic)

Athiyo Muhammed (Heathens)

Martial Tchumkam (Rhinos)

Robert Musinguzi (Pirates)

Richard Lumu (RAMS)

Coach of the Year (International)

Tolbert Onyango (MEN’s 7s)

Charles Onecan (WOMEN’s 7s)

Leonard Lubambula (WOMEN’s 15s)

Fred Mudoola (MEN’s 15s)

More from category

Recommended articles

NBS Sport gears up to broadcast Rugby Africa Cup live

NBS Sport gears up to broadcast Rugby Africa Cup live